Good Food and Coffee

The best of Cusine

For the home coffee roaster

This is my home roaster. Im about to build it into a moveable trolley, so its the bare bones in this picture.

  • A breadmaker. I stripped it out of its case and control panel. I rewired it so the motor runs continuously when plugged into the mains. When I fit everything into the trolley, I will put a fused switch for it.
  • A heatgun. Nothing fancy with 2 heat settings. They will burn out eventually so do not spend a lot. This is my second gun in 3 years.
  • A digital thermometer. Can also be plugged into a computer for graphing the coffee roast.
  • A digital timer for monitoring the heat rise and setting the hold between first and second crack.
  • Ash can. My new invention. insert the nozzle of a vacuum cleaner into it and use the other hose for sucking out the beans from the bread pan. I then leave the vacuum running for 4 minutes and it extracts all the heat from the beans. Remove the lid, check the beans and bag directly from the container.

Total costs:

Breadmaker (mine was “borrowed” but anywhere from free to whatever you want to pay)

Heat gun: £8-£20. Mine are Ebay specials and £8 a time.

Digital thermometer: Between £10 and £35

Digital timer: £4

Ash Can: Under £19 delivered from Coopers.

I use the house vacuum but will probably buy a used small one for the job.

I use coffee beans from Rave Coffee

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

